Promote Wellbeing and Resilience in Your Classroom

When wellbeing and resilience is promoted, academic success is likely to be achieved. Good mental health and wellbeing contribute to quality of life.

Ensure these strategies are implemented in your classroom:

  • A sense of belonging
  • Meaningful contribution and participation
  • Opportunities for strengths to be affirmed
  • Opportunities for taking initiative
  • Collaboration
  • Rules about bullying
  • Cooperative learning activities
  • Peer support strategies
  • Teacher knowledge of students
  • Teacher warmth and availability
  • Clear and consistent classroom boundaries
  • Family involvement with school programs
  • Strong teacher-family relationships

This information was adapted from BounceBack! Click here for more information and fantastic resources related to wellbeing and resilience.

How are you promoting wellbeing and resilience in your classroom?

Ambro / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

8 Comments

Filed under Teaching Strategies

8 responses to “Promote Wellbeing and Resilience in Your Classroom

  1. I will answer by asking you the question back. How do your expect to promote wellbeing and resilience in your classroom?
    It may be a simple answer, but many of the points teachers do without thinking IF they are good teachers!
    I can’t say definitively the last time I thought about a particular point, they are imbedded in not only my teaching, but my ethos and most importantly, my character as a teacher.
    Not to blow my own trumpet, but I had parents and students that I haven’t taught for five years asking the principal to move move me to their year group so I could teach them again.
    For teachers that are dedicated to their work, to their students and are “born to teach” this list is not only automatic but innate.
    So I ask again, How do YOU expect to promote wellbeing and resilience in your classroom?

    Like

    • Hi Keely,

      I agree, a lot of these things are done without thinking but sometimes I think we can forget to think about it as we get caught up in getting work done.

      That’s fantastic that parents and students wanted to be in your class, that is deifnitely a great achievement!

      To answer your question I would say I want my students to know I truly care about them. I also want to have clear expectations, use positive reinforcement and have a great reward system in place. I want to get to know my students – their likes/dislikes, interests etc. I want their time in the classroom to be fun, engaging and happy. I want to demonstrate wellbeing and resillience and teach them to make good decisions and motivate them to always try their best and be the best person they can be. I want them to know that I believe in them and in turn help them to believe in themselves and adopt a positive attitude.

      What do you think?

      Ashley

      Like

      • Hey Ashley.

        I think that with answering your own questions on this and other issues of classroom management you will know what to look out for when it is going well and when things are going wrong (and they will at times). I think it is all about being positive.

        Last night I was part of a blackboard where teens where describing their educational background in the school that had “saved” them. They described teachers that they knew cared about them, unfortunately this was after describing their previous schools where they felt that they were just a face in a crowd. They were worried that when they got to college they would be reverted back to having teachers that didn’t care – as if their present school was the only place where caring happened.

        At the end they described a “Care Test” that they thought all teachers should take to ensure that all teachers cared about all students. I was so upset by the end of it – not only for them and others that feel this way, but for our profession and teachers who do care! And shocked that there must be a lot in our profession that do not hold the same values that I do.

        After that I truly commend you and your work here. Asking questions, reading answers and questioning yourself more can only make you a better teacher, and a better person. I know you won’t have to take a “Care Test” because it is obvious already that you do care!

        Keep questioning (you know where I am)

        Keely X

        Like

  2. That is exactly why more teachers should blog – it helps you to reflect which is so important in order to continue to learn and grow as a teacher.

    It is so sad to hear that these students have felt like that. It is shocking to think that not every teacher cares, or show that they care, however it obviously is a sad reality – hopefully a minority.

    Thanks for your support and advice, it is always welcome and very appreciated!

    Like

  3. Alison Pearse

    Building trust is so vital to enable students to be risk takers. Being a risk taker allows success and failure. The trust allows the cushion for the risk taking and the inevitable failures. Students “fail” all the time in my classes, but the trust I have built with them makes them try and try and try again- resiliency!
    How do I build trust? I expect more from myself than them, I say sorry when I make mistakes, I do what I say I was going to, I don’t tolerate any dissection from student to student, I forgive students quickly and show them another way to solve it… There are no power games, but there are definitely limits. Students know them, they do not change according to my mood. This builds trust, risk taking, resiliency.

    Like

    • Hi Alison,

      You bring up some fantastic points. I definitely agree that trust is vital between a teacher and their students. It is a great thing when students can make mistakes and try again because of the trust and encouragement received in class.

      Being a good role model is also a great point and I think it is so important to not let the limits change according to our moods!

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

      Like

  4. Hello,
    Being a primary teacher has benefits and more responsibility. As they are too small and away from parent, make them dull and stubborn. Some kids take little longer time to open up, but overall they are fun.
    Kids should enjoy with teachers, and get interactive and creative. Teacher has a key role-play to shape them and nurture.
    First time here and like your blog. I’m Wishing you a successful carrier in teaching.

    I would appreciate if you visit mine.
    Thanx.
    Take care.

    Like

    • Hi Rashida,

      Thanks for commenting and for your support. I definitely agree with your points. While teachers have a great responsibility, it is truly rewarding. We need to aim to ensure our students love coming to class and be as interactive and creative as we can.

      Ashley

      Like

Leave a Reply

